stemsfromme

Enjoy wine. Simply. Socially. Snobbery-free.

To Aerate or to Not Aerate?

That is certainly a question. Because I truly do appreciate a fine wine that’s under $10, I never have felt that they were worth the extra effort of aerating. They are generally younger wines and what’s the benefit, anyway? Sitting open for a couple of hours should be good, right (like it ever lasts that long around the Penthouse, ha!)?

Au contraire, mon frere. As I learned recently from eatocracy.com, written by Ray Isle, executive wine editor for Food & Wine, this is exactly why I am supposed to be aerating my young and inexpensive selections! Apparently, younger wines (generally red), need exposure to air in order to soften tannins and intensify aromas. Older (read, more expensive) wines are already softened and intensified, so it isn’t necessary  The danger with these is that sediments can develop and these wines should be decanted to remove the sediment. Since I enjoy drinking my wine out of the adult version of the sippy cup, I think it’s safe to assume I’m not quite ready for that level as yet.

I’m planning to do some celebratory testing (drinking)  over the holidays and since we here at stemsfromme are all about enjoying our wine simply (quickly), I’m dying to try out a portable aerator that slips right onto the bottle. This means one-handed aeration, baby. No muss, no fuss, and we’ll let you know how it works. I just hope it doesn’t slow the flow ;-)

Gray Ghost Vineyards in Amissville, VA has the largest cork Christmas display that contains over 81,000 wine corks! That’s a whole lotta wine!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

